Common Penalties for a DWI in DallasJayBishop
Whether you are a first-time offender or not, a DWI charge in the state of Texas can be a frightening experience as you wonder how it will impact the rest of your life. Although it is considered a Class B misdemeanor, it is still a criminal charge with serious consequences. You can face steep fines that you may not be able to afford, as well the time behind bars. The state of your drivers’ license is also at stake and you face the possibility of losing it for an extended period of time. Hiring an experienced Dallas DWI attorney to represent you in a case like this is key to your case and an honest attorney will educate you on what you are up against.
There are different penalties depending on whether this is your first time charged and convicted for a DWI offense. If it is your first time, you may be forced to pay a fine of up to $2,000 and also face the possibility of a jail sentence that can be a minimum of three days, but a maximum of 180 days. You can also lose your license for as little as 90 days and as long as one year. While the legal limit for Blood Alcohol Concentration in Texas is .08%, if your BAC was .15% or more, you face the possibility of being tried as a second-time offender and if convicted, that can come with even harsher penalties. Your fine can be much more steep and as high as $5,000, and you face the possibility of anywhere from 30 days to one year behind bars. Your license can also be revoked for as little as six months and as much as two years. A second time offender charge is also classified as a misdemeanor and not a felony, but a DWI attorney in Dallas is just as critical and necessary.
If it your third DWI offense, then felony charges in the third degree can come into play. Your fine can be as high as $10,000 and you can spend up to 10 years in jail. If there was any bodily harm done when driving while intoxicated whether it is your first offense or not, 10 years in jail may also be necessary. If a death occurred, this can be considered intoxication manslaughter and you can be facing a 20-year prison sentence, but a good Dallas DWI lawyer can help you get a lesser sentence.
A Texas DWI charge is a serious matter that requires serious attention no matter how severe. For the help you need in court, call a DWI lawyer in Dallas today.